Thither, Cocceius

My last blog was Patristic Evangelism.  It had a good shelf life and I was loathe to stop it.  But my focus moved on.  I do think it helped the Reformed and Evangelical community.  When the subordination silliness came out, I had many outlines and analyses of Trinitarian theology ready to go.

While I’m not an authority on Patristic theology, I am a rather fair reader of it.  And I do plan to keep it available.  But that’s not the direction my life is going.  My local church (EPC) is positioned by God to really make an impact in my area for the Reformed faith, which is desperately needed given the crippling influence of Auburn Avenue in Monroe.

Thither, Cocceius?

I chose Cocceius as the patron (if I dare speak so) of my blog because in him we see the intersection of federal theology, biblical theology, and elenctic theology.  So basically Turretin + Vos (I don’t know how many historical theologians I made weep with that last sentence!)

Author: Ephraim's Arrow

Interests include patristics, the role of the soul in the human person, analytic theology, charismatic gifts

2 thoughts on “Thither, Cocceius”

  1. New blog, again. As St. Peter said, I will follow you wherever you go ;). Interested to see how the new blog develops.

    Have you read the recent translation of Cocceius’ book on the covenant and testament of God.? Also, did the ARP church in your area finally shut down?

    Like

    1. LOL. That was genuinely funny. I haven’t read that work. It is on my Christ-mass wish list.

      No, the ARP church is still going on. They’re good people. Long story short, my family was driving across two towns to get there. When I looked into the local EPC church (which had left the PCUSA), and saw that it had robust preaching and doctrinal soundness, my family joined it. There are a few other reasons relating to health, which I think you know via some of our emails.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

